The 9-5 Grind

This post would probably get me in trouble at work. Who cares.

I’ve been in my big boy position now for about a month and a half-ish. It’s pretty nice, cozy, and laid back. I’m upset that I let myself believe that customer service was the only industry that I was going to be able to fit in. I thought I would be a supervisor somewhere just hating my life.

But now, I’m in a completely different industry and it’s way easier, less stressful, and extremely comfortable. That being said, another reason that I wasn’t moving into a different industry from the beginning was because the “skillset” wasn’t there. “We chose someone with more experience”, is something I would hear often.

That’s just total bullshit.

You’re telling me you need someone with experience to work in a position where you have to email folks? Experience with that? Get out of my face with that lame ass excuse.

Also, a part of me didn’t want the cushy 9-5 schedule because I felt like it would consume my whole day. I wouldn’t be able to have a morning and wouldn’t be able to stay up late. This is definitely not important.

I’ve also noticed that my mood is WAY better. There are no upsetting emotions that I go through on a daily basis, no weird pretending to like my job attitude, and no angry customers.

It’s upsetting I let myself go through that for so many years.

Now, daily plans are made deciding what we are going to do with our free afternoons. It doesn’t get much better than this. My excitement only grows imagining the possibilities on how my future in this career unfolds.

Leave a comment